According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (the “CDC”), every day in the United States more than 9 people are killed and more than 1,153 people are injured in automobile accidents that involve a distracted driver.
There are three main types of distraction:
2. Manual: taking your hands off the wheel; and
Distracted driving can include using a cell phone, texting, eating, or using a navigation system.
While any of these distractions can endanger the driver and others, texting while driving is especially dangerous because it combines all three types of distraction. Yet according to a recent CDC study, 31% of U.S. drivers ages 18-64 reported that they had read or sent text messages or emails while driving at least once within the last 30 days.
To help stem this problem, many states have enacted laws that prohibit texting while driving. In Nevada if you are caught texting while driving the fine is $50 for the first offense, $200 for the second, and $250 for the third and subsequent offenses. After the first offense the driver is also given demerit points which can affect their insurance rates or even their ability to get a license.
We urge all drivers in Nevada to avoid texting while driving. Don’t be a statistic!