Before you can lawfully operate a motor vehicle in the state of Nevada, you must purchase at least the minimum required amounts of car insurance. Car insurance is also called proof of financial responsibility, as it demonstrates that a driver is capable of being financially responsible should he or she cause a car crash. Learn the car insurance requirements in Nevada to make sure that you have enough coverage.
How Much Car Insurance Must Drivers Carry in Nevada?
Every state has different required amounts of car insurance. If you move to Nevada, you must adapt your existing coverage to meet Nevada’s requirements. Otherwise, you could face penalties for not having enough coverage, such as a fine or the suspension of your driver’s license. Currently, the minimum required amounts of car insurance in Nevada are:
- Bodily injury insurance per person: $25,000
- Bodily injury insurance for multiple people (per accident): $50,000
- Property damage insurance: $20,000
Liability coverage pays for someone else’s medical bills and property repairs if you cause a car accident. Drivers can also purchase additional (optional) types of car insurance to cover their own costs after an accident. This may include collision coverage, comprehensive insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance.
How Does Car Insurance Work After a Car Accident in Nevada?
Nevada is a fault or tort-based car insurance state. This means that the motorist who is at fault for a car accident has to pay for the damage caused. In a no-fault state, on the other hand, all drivers seek coverage from their own car insurance companies, regardless of fault. After a Las Vegas car accident, injured parties will file an insurance claim with the insurance carrier of the driver who caused the crash. This is typically the driver who violated a traffic law.
The insurance company will investigate the accident and either accept the claim and offer a settlement or reject coverage with an explanation. If the claim is accepted, the insurance company and claimant can enter into settlement negotiations to agree on a fair amount (up to the maximum on the driver’s policy). If the claim is rejected or the insurer refuses to make a reasonable settlement offer, the car accident case may have to proceed to trial.
What if the State-Mandated Minimum Isn’t Enough Coverage?
If you get injured in a car accident and your losses are worth more than the maximum amount on the other driver’s policy, you may be able to turn to your own insurance provider for secondary coverage. If you suffered a catastrophic injury that will require $50,000 in foreseeable medical costs, for example, and the other driver’s insurance only has a maximum of $25,000, you may need to file a first-party claim with your own insurer for the other $25,000. Whether or not this is covered by your insurance company depends on the type of policy you have.
You may also be able to file a Las Vegas personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver for additional coverage. A lawsuit may be able to access additional forms of insurance to cover your remaining costs. In some cases, a third party could be held liable for the remaining amount, instead, such as an auto manufacturer for a defective car part or the government for a roadway hazard. An attorney can help you search for all available outlets for financial coverage after a crash.
What if You Get Into an Accident With an Uninsured or Underinsured Driver?
Despite Nevada making minimum amounts of car insurance a requirement for all drivers, you may get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. In this scenario, since you cannot use the other driver’s insurance for coverage, you will need to turn to your own insurance carrier, instead. If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance, this will pay. If you do not have this type of insurance, you may need to file a lawsuit against one or more parties for coverage.