Las Vegas has some of the highest car accident rates in the State of Nevada. It is important to understand your legal responsibilities as a driver if you get involved in a car accident, as fulfilling your duties can help you protect yourself and others. Failing to meet your responsibilities as a driver could even lead to criminal charges for a hit-and-run, in some circumstances.
Drivers in Las Vegas Have Five Legal Duties After a Car Accident
If you get into a car accident, even one involving a parked car or no injuries, there are certain duties that you must obey by law. Failing to complete all of the requirements could lead to a fine, citation or even a criminal conviction that comes with jail time for hit-and-run. Under Nevada law, drivers who are involved in automobile accidents have five main responsibilities:
- Pull over: you must pull over at the scene of the accident or as close to the scene as is safely practicable. If you do not stop immediately, you must return to the scene of the accident right away. If possible, move your disabled vehicle out of the way of traffic.
- Render aid: check yourself, your passengers and everyone else involved in the accident for injuries. If anyone is injured, you have a legal obligation to render aid. This may mean calling for paramedics or bringing an injured person to the nearest hospital.
- Notify the police: Nevada law requires drivers to report all car accidents that result in injuries or deaths to law enforcement. It can also help to report minor collisions so that you obtain a police report. Call 911 from the scene of the accident to notify the police.
- Exchange information: while you wait for the police to arrive, remain at the scene and exchange information with the other driver. This includes your names, phone numbers and insurance information.
- Report the crash to the DMV: according to the Nevada Revised Statutes, Section 484E.070, motorists must complete and submit the SR-1 Crash Report to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the accident if it was not investigated by the police.
If you strike a parked car and you cannot find the owner of the vehicle after making a reasonable effort to do so, you are required to leave a note with your contact information in a visible place on the vehicle. These driver responsibilities apply to all automobile accidents, including car, truck, motorcycle, bicycle and pedestrian collisions in Las Vegas.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
Nevada is a fault state, which means the person or party most at fault for causing a car accident is responsible for paying for the victim’s property damage and medical bills. For this reason, liability insurance is required of all drivers under state law. Liability insurance pays for the bills of another party, not the policyholder. The types of automobile insurance that are required in Nevada are:
- Bodily injury liability insurance per person: $25,000
- Bodily injury liability insurance per accident: $50,000
- Property damage liability insurance: $20,000
If a car accident takes place in Las Vegas, the at-fault driver will be responsible for paying for related damage. Drivers are required to carry Nevada Evidence of Liability Insurance, otherwise known as proof of financial responsibility, in their vehicles or accessible on a mobile device. Failing to provide proof of insurance during a traffic stop or after an accident could lead to the temporary suspension of a driver’s license until the driver can show proof.