where a LAWYER handles your case from start to settlementRequest Your Free Consultation Request Free Consultation
Posted in Car Accidents on March 28, 2022
Car insurance provides a safety net for those involved in car accidents in Las Vegas. It ensures that the driver who caused the crash can afford to pay for a victim’s losses. Insurance is required of all motor vehicle drivers in Nevada. Yet many drivers get behind the wheel without enough or any car insurance coverage. If you get into a car accident with no insurance In Las Vegas, here’s what you need to know.
Maintaining the correct amount of car insurance can protect you from legal and financial trouble should you get into a car accident. If you get pulled over by the police without insurance, you could face penalties such as fines and driver’s license suspension. In addition, Nevada is a fault-based car insurance state, meaning the driver at fault for causing the crash must pay. Without insurance, you may have to pay out of pocket.
All drivers in Nevada are required to carry at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $50,000 in total bodily injury or death insurance per accident, and $20,000 in property damage liability coverage. These types of liability insurance pay for the other driver’s losses after an at-fault car accident, not your own medical bills or vehicle repairs.
If you get into a car accident while driving without insurance in Nevada, it can be difficult to collect financial compensation, whether or not you are at fault. Nevada has a No Pay, No Play Law that penalizes drivers who unlawfully drive without insurance after car accidents. It prevents uninsured motorists from collecting financial compensation for their noneconomic damages, even if they were not at fault for the car accident in question. This means you may be ineligible for pain and suffering compensation.
If you were not at fault for the car accident, you may still be eligible for economic damages – even if you were unlawfully driving without car insurance. You can seek financial compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance company, regardless of your own coverage. The other driver’s liability insurance will pay for your medical bills and vehicle repairs. However, you can still face penalties for unlawfully driving without insurance, such as a fine of $100 to $1,000. Your driver’s license may also be suspended until you can prove that you’ve purchased car insurance.
If you get into a car accident without insurance, you may be responsible for paying for all related medical costs and property damage out of pocket, in addition to paying additional fees as a penalty for breaking Nevada’s insurance laws. However, you still have rights to protect and the possibility of obtaining compensation if you aren’t at fault. Take the following steps in this situation:
The best way to protect yourself from being financially responsible for a car accident is by never driving uninsured or underinsured in Nevada. If you do get into a car crash without insurance, however, don’t hesitate to contact Koch & Brim for advice and assistance. Our attorneys can walk you through the legal process for the best possible case results.